2015 T.J. Smith Stakes Final Field and Barrier Draw

March 31st, 2015

Eleven talented sprinters have been confirmed in the final field for Saturday’s Group 1 T.J. Smith Stakes (1200m) at Randwick, highlighted by the inclusion of several previous winners at the highest level of racing.

Lankan Rupee will leave from barrier 4 in the 2015 T.J. Smith Stakes. Photo: Sarah Ebbett

Lankan Rupee will leave from barrier 4 in the 2015 T.J. Smith Stakes. Photo: Sarah Ebbett

Lankan Rupee posted a third Group 1 victory in the 2014 edition of the T.J. Smith Stakes and will leave from the ideal barrier 4 in his title defence this weekend.

Posting a commendable race record of eleven wins and a further six minor place finishes through just 22 career starts, Lankan Rupee undoubtedly registered career-best form to date during the 2014 Autumn Carnival; taking out the Group 2 Rubiton Stakes (1100m) at a jog first-up before winning each of the Group 1 Oakleigh Plate (1100m), Group 1 Newmarket Handicap (1200m) and T.J. Smith Stakes.

Unable to return to the same racing highs through spring despite adding the Group 1 Manikato Stakes (1200m) to his list of achievements, the Redoute’s Choice gelding returned this time for a commanding win in the Group 1 Black Caviar Lightning Stakes (1000m) before a disappointing run for sixth in the Newmarket last time out.

Despite the result, Mick Price has been pleased with Lankan Rupee’s form and is confident of a competitive display this weekend.

Terravista returned for third in the Newmarket Handicap three weeks ago and will be far-greater for the run when contesting the T.J. Smith Stakes this weekend.

Currently rated the world’s equal best sprinter alongside Lankan Rupee, Terravista won each of the Group 3 Show County Quality (1200m) and Group 2 The Shorts (1100m) upon resuming in spring; luckless when fifth in the Manikato Stakes but responding in the best way possible when taking out the talent-rich Group 1 Darley Classic (1200m) on November 8th.

Allocated the wide and somewhat awkward barrier 10, the Captain Rio gelding has been confirmed to be partnered by leading hoop Hugh Bowman in the T.J.Smith Stakes.

Finishing outside the places only twice through his 12 start career, Chautauqua returned in scintillating form in spring; winning each of the Group 3 Bobbie Lewis Quality (1200m) and Group 2 Gilgai Stakes (1200m) before running a close second in the Darley Classic.

Having taken out the Rubiton Stakes and finished second to runaway three-year-old Brazen Beau in the Newmarket Handicap, the Encosta De Lago gelding will be particularly difficult to beat with Tommy Berry aboard this weekend.

Group 1 winner Famous Seamus will leave from the rails draw in the 2015 T.J. Smith Stakes, while Fast ‘N’ Rocking has been charged with overcoming the outside barrier 11.

Leading online bookie Ladbrokes.com.au is currently offering the best odds on all major races on Day 1 of The Championships, including the T.J. Smith Stakes!

Open an account and deposit at Ladbrokes.com.au today to take advantage of up to $250 in bonuses in time for the T.J. Smith!

2015 T.J. Smith Stakes Final Field and Barrier Draw

No Last 10 Horse Trainer Jockey Barrier Weight Hcp Rating
1 11x2213x16 LANKAN RUPEE Mick Price Craig Newitt 4 58.5kg 118
2 110x1151x3 TERRAVISTA Joseph Pride Hugh Bowman 10 58.5kg 112
3 715x112x12 CHAUTAUQUA Michael, Wayne & John Hawkes Tommy Berry 9 58.5kg 111
4 1437x112x8 TIGER TEES (NZ) Joseph Pride James McDonald 2 58.5kg 111
5 90x3136x59 FAMOUS SEAMUS (NZ) Noel Mayfield-Smith Tim Clark 1 58.5kg 109
6 x9214x02x0 FONTELINA Anthony Cummings Zac Purton 8 58.5kg 107
7 x14131x334 FAST ’N’ ROCKING David Hayes & Tom Dabernig Dwayne Dunn 11 58.5kg 102
8 6x090x3x74 RAIN AFFAIR Joseph Pride Craig Williams 6 58.5kg 102
9 144×422704 LORD OF THE SKY Robbie Laing Damien Oliver 7 58.5kg 98
10 29x12412x1 SWEET IDEA Gai Waterhouse Joao Moreira 5 56.5kg 114
11 x416744x01 PRESS REPORT Lee Curtis Jason Collett 3 54.5kg 80